At the core of ODDCROP’s education work are its Masterclasses in Devising, Playwriting, Directing, Designing and Acting. Award-winning theatre practitioner Oliver Chong will guide participants through rigorous processes of contemplating training and creation, drawing references from notable training and performance-devising methods such as Meyerhold’s Biomechanics, Suzuki Method of Actor Training and Viewpoints.

These processes offer an insight into ODDCROP’s working methodology to people of varying interests, abilities and backgrounds, from professionals and students, to young people within and without the theatre community. 

CONTACT US for enquiries on upcoming Masterclasses or customised workshops.


Oliver Chong

Oliver Chong is also actively involved in encouraging arts appreciation in Singapore by cultivating new audiences through The Finger Players’ Reach Out! Arts Education Program since 2004, with an average outreach of 85,000 students and members of the public per year. To date, he has toured assembly plays and conducted lectures, talks, masterclasses and workshops in playwriting, directing, acting and puppetry at over 70 theatre companies, schools, institutions, and organisations in Singapore and abroad [see non-exhaustive list below]. He has also written, devised, designed and directed graduation productions for Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA) and Lasalle College of the Arts School of Theatre (Singapore) students in BA(Hons) and Diploma programmes.

Since 2014, Oliver has been conducting Acting Masterclasses with The Finger Players, Drama Box and ODDCROP Productions; and has seen the graduation of nine batches of more than 50 active practitioners to date. In 2020, Oliver was commissioned by the National Arts Council (Singapore) to conduct MARGIN – A One-to-one Playwriting Masterclass (in Mandarin); by Singapore Drama Educators Association (SDEA) to conduct Directing Masterclass – Doctoring Directorial Approaches and Directing to Vision – A 1-to-1 Directing Masterclass. In 2021, Oliver was invited onboard the adjudicator panel for the annual Singapore Youth Festival (SYF) Arts Presentation for Drama by the Ministry of Education (MOE) Singapore.


YouTube video

Lasalle College of the Arts School of Theatre (Singapore) | Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts | Intercultural Theatre Institute | Hong Kong Repertory Theatre | National Institute of Education (ITP) | Ministry of Education Special Branch | National University of Singapore | Nanyang Technological University | Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information | Republic Polytechnic | School of the Arts, Singapore | Institute of Technical Education (ITE) | Down Syndrome Association (Singapore) | Children’s Cancer Foundation | Singapore Baptist Convention Golden Age Home | The Salvation Army (Singapore) | Ronald McDonald Children’s Charity Club Rainbow | St John’s Home for Elderly Persons | Bethany Methodist Nursing Home | Adventist Home for the Elders | Christian Outreach to the Handicapped (Tampines) | Christian Outreach to the Handicapped (Toa Payoh) | AWWA Community Home | AWWA Seniors Activity Centre | AWWA READYCARE Centre | AWWA School | Marine Parade Family Service Centre | Geylang East Home for the Aged | St Andrew Autism School | International Community School | Cherie Hearts | Fei Yue Counselling Centre | Pathlight School | North Light School | Raffles Institute | Pioneer Junior College | Tampines Junior College | Victoria Junior College | Dunman High School | Catholic High School | Hwa Chong Institution | Nanyang Junior College | Anderson Junior College | River Valley High School | Chung Cheng High School (Main) | Nan Hua High School | Anderson Secondary School | Anderson Primary School | Maris Stella High School | Canossian School | Raffles Girls’ School | Anglo-Chinese School (Barker) | St. Gabriel’s Secondary School | Fairfield Methodist Secondary School | Towner Garden School | St Andrew’s School | CHIJ Secondary School | CHIJ St Nicholas Girls’ School | Tanjong Katong Secondary School | Dunearn Secondary School | Ang Mo Kio Secondary School | Deyi Secondary School | Hong Kah Secondary School | St. Gabriel’s Secondary School | Xinmin Secondary School | Jurong West Secondary School | Woodgrove Secondary School | Nan Hua Primary School | St Margaret’s Primary School | CHIJ Katong Primary School | Zhenghua Primary School | Xishan Primary School | Chongzheng Primary School | West Grove Primary School | Keming Primary School | Yu Neng Primary School